

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	16-0239	Version: 1				
Туре:	Resolution		Status:	Adopted		
File created:	2/26/2016		In control:	Miscellaneous & New Business		
On agenda:	3/3/2016		Final action:	3/3/2016		
Title:	RESOLUTION sponsored by the Board of Commissioners recognizing the Shannon Rovers Irish Bagpipe Band					
Sponsors:						
Indexes:						
Code sections:						

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
3/3/2016	1	Board of Commissioners	Adopted	Pass
3/3/2016	1	Committee of the Whole	Recommended	Pass

RESOLUTION FOR BOARD MEETING OF MARCH 3, 2016

RESOLUTION sponsored by the Board of Commissioners recognizing the Shannon Rovers Irish Bagpipe Band

WHEREAS, the Shannon Rovers were formed in 1926 by a group of mostly Irish immigrants that came to Chicago in the 1920s; and

WHEREAS, first known as the Shannon Rovers Fife and Drum Corps, the band switched to bagpipes in 1932; and

WHEREAS, the Shannon Rovers have performed in thousands of local, national and international events since their founding; and

WHEREAS, one of the Shannon Rovers' proudest traditions has been leading Chicago's St. Patrick's Day Parade, which they have done every year since it began; and

WHEREAS, for 89 years, the Shannon Rovers have been a cultural fixture in the Chicagoland area, playing at parades, weddings, funerals, and other important events for generations of Chicago's Irish community; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, on behalf of ourselves and staff, do hereby recognize the Shannon Rovers; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution be spread upon the permanent Record of Proceedings of the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, and that a copy of same, suitably engrossed, be presented to the Shannon Rovers Irish Bagpipe Band.

Dated: March 3, 2016

Approved: MARIYANA T. SPYROPOULOS, President; BARBARA J. MCGOWAN, Vice President; FRANK AVILA, Chairman, Committee on Finance; MICHAEL A. ALVAREZ; TIMOTHY BRADFORD; CYNTHIA M. SANTOS; DEBRA SHORE; KARI K. STEELE; DAVID J. WALSH; Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Approved as to Form and Legality: Ronald M. Hill, General Counsel, RMH:aw