

# Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

100 East Erie Street Chicago, IL 60611

# Legislation Details (With Text)

**File #**: 17-0131 **Version**: 1

Type: Resolution Status: Adopted

File created: 1/27/2017 In control: Miscellaneous & New Business

On agenda: 2/2/2017 Final action: 2/2/2017

Title: RESOLUTION sponsored by the Board of Commissioners recognizing the 62nd Anniversary of the

Chicago St. Patrick's Day Parade

Sponsors:

Indexes:

**Code sections:** 

#### Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
2/2/2017	1	Board of Commissioners	Adopted	Pass
2/2/2017	1	Committee of the Whole	Recommended	Pass

### **RESOLUTION FOR BOARD MEETING OF FEBRUARY 2, 2017**

RESOLUTION sponsored by the Board of Commissioners recognizing the 62<sup>nd</sup> Anniversary of the Chicago St. Patrick's Day Parade

WHEREAS, for 62 years, Chicagoans have celebrated Irish culture and heritage at the St. Patrick's Day Parade; and

WHEREAS, the Chicago Journeymen Plumbers Local Union 130 UA has proudly sponsored the parade since 1955; and

WHEREAS, each year, to the delight of all parade celebrants, the Chicago River is dyed bright green in honor of the parade; and

WHEREAS, the parade begins at noon on March 11<sup>th</sup> and will feature Martin J. Healy, Jr., Attorney at Law, Healy Scanlon Law Firm of Chicago, as Grand Marshal; and

WHEREAS, each year, a Parade Queen is chosen by a panel of judges to represent the spirit of the parade, and Maura Connors was chosen Queen for 2017. Her Court is Catherine Coghlan, Theresa McDermott, Madeline Mitchell and Mary Claire Reidy; and

WHEREAS, generations of Chicagoans have grown up enjoying the parade, proudly wearing their green and joining in the festivities; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, on behalf of ourselves and staff, do hereby recognize the 62<sup>nd</sup> Anniversary of the Chicago St. Patrick's Day Parade; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution be spread upon the permanent Record of Proceedings of the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, and that a

## File #: 17-0131, Version: 1

copy of same, suitably engrossed, be presented to Parade General Chairman, James Coyne.

Dated: February 2, 2017

Approved: MARIYANA T. SPYROPOULOS, President; BARBARA J. MCGOWAN, Vice President; FRANK AVILA, Chairman, Committee on Finance; TIMOTHY BRADFORD; MARTIN J. DURKAN; JOSINA MORITA; DEBRA SHORE; KARI K. STEELE; DAVID J. WALSH; Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Approved as to Form and Legality: Ronald M. Hill, General Counsel, RMH:yt