

## Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

## Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	18-0401	Version: 1				
Туре:	Resolution		Status:	Adopted		
File created:	4/16/2018		In control:	Miscellaneous & New Business		
On agenda:	4/19/2018		Final action:	4/19/2018		
Title:	RESOLUTION sponsored by the Board of Commissioners recognizing Abbey Murphy					
Sponsors:						
Indexes:						
Code sections:						
Attachments:						
Date	Ver. Action E	Зу	Act	ion	Result	
					_	

		•		
4/19/2018	1	Board of Commissioners	Adopted	Pass
4/19/2018	1	Committee of the Whole	Recommended	Pass

## **RESOLUTION FOR BOARD MEETING OF APRIL 19, 2018**

RESOLUTION sponsored by the Board of Commissioners recognizing Abbey Murphy

WHEREAS, Abbey Murphy, a sophomore at Mother McAuley High School in Chicago and daughter of MWRD Pipefitter Ed Murphy started playing hockey when she was 7 years old; and

WHEREAS, at age 10, Abbey joined the Chicago Mission, an elite AAA hockey program; and

WHEREAS, Abbey plays forward on the US Under 18 Women's National Hockey Team and is the youngest member; and

WHEREAS, Team USA most recently earned the gold medal at the 2018 International Ice Hockey Federation Under-18 Women's World Championship in Dmitrov, Russia, winning the event for an unprecedented fourth consecutive year; and

WHEREAS, in an overtime win, the Chicago Mission beat Selects Academy at Bishop Kearney to claim the Girls 16 U National Championship; and

WHEREAS, as the tournament's leading goal-scorer, Abbey Murphy was integral to the win; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, on behalf of ourselves and staff, do hereby recognize Abbey Murphy for her many achievements as a hockey player; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution be spread upon the permanent Record of Proceedings of the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, and that a copy of same, suitably engrossed, be presented to Abbey Murphy.

Dated: April 19, 2018

Approved: MARIYANA T. SPYROPOULOS, President; BARBARA J. MCGOWAN, Vice President; FRANK AVILA, Chairman, Committee on Finance; MARTIN J. DURKAN; JOSINA MORITA; DEBRA SHORE; KARI K. STEELE; DAVID J. WALSH; Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Approved as to Form and Legality: Susan T. Morakalis, General Counsel, STM:aw