RESOLUTION FOR BOARD MEETING OF AUGUST 7, 2014

RESOLUTION sponsored by the Board of Commissioners honoring James Schaefer, Bernadette Cameron and Javier Salazar for rescuing a stranger who had fallen into the Little Calumet River

WHEREAS, on June 29th, while participating in a Patrol Boat Operator test along the Little Calumet River in Dolton, Environmental Specialist James Schaefer, Administrative Specialist Bernadette Cameron and Patrol Boat Operator Javier Salazar heard shouting coming from the dock; and

WHEREAS, upon arrival at the scene of commotion, they observed a woman almost fully submerged, hanging on to a rope; and

WHEREAS, as Bernadette Cameron called 911, James Schaefer and Javier Salazar worked with people on the dock to pull the woman to safety; and

WHEREAS, in the course of their regular work to protect and beautify our waterways, Jim, Javier and Bernadette exemplified the very best type of District employee by bravely and selflessly offering assistance to a stranger in dire need of help; and

WHEREAS, to quote Sally Koch, "Great opportunities to help others seldom come, but small ones surround us every day"; and

WHEREAS, in seizing the opportunity to help someone in need, James Schaefer, Javier Salazar and Bernadette Cameron have made the District proud; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, on behalf of ourselves and staff, do hereby honor James Schaefer, Javier Salazar and Bernadette Cameron for their quick-thinking and selfless action, recognize their bravery with this proclamation, and hold their actions as an example for others to emulate; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution be spread upon the permanent Record of Proceedings of the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, and that copies of same, suitably engrossed, be presented to James Schaefer, Javier Salazar and Bernadette Cameron.

Dated: August 7, 2014

Approved: KATHLEEN THERESE MEANY, President; BARBARA J. MCGOWAN, Vice-President; MARIYANA T. SPYROPOULOS, Chairman, Committee on Finance; MICHAEL A. ALVAREZ; FRANK AVILA; CYNTHIA M. SANTOS; DEBRA SHORE; KARI K. STEELE; PATRICK D. THOMPSON, Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Approved as to Form and Legality: Ronald M. Hill, General Counsel