

Legislation Text

## File #: 15-0451, Version: 1

## **RESOLUTION FOR BOARD MEETING OF APRIL 23, 2015**

RESOLUTION sponsored by the Board of Commissioners recognizing the 124<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of the Polish Constitution Day Parade

WHEREAS, the Polish Constitution Day Parade in Chicago is the largest Polish parade outside of Poland; and

WHEREAS, the parade celebrates the anniversary of the ratification of the Polish Constitution of May 3, 1791, which was the first democratic constitution in Europe and second in the world only to the United States Constitution; and

WHEREAS, for 124 years, Polish community organizations have come together to organize this traditional Chicago salute to pride and tradition on the Saturday closest to May 3<sup>rd</sup>; and

WHEREAS, the main organizer of the Parade is the Association of Polish Clubs, under whose leadership the Grand Marshal and Queen of the Parade are elected; and

WHEREAS, this year, Coach Michael Krzyzewski has been selected as Grand Marshall and Marlena Pierzchala was crowned Queen of the Parade; and

WHEREAS, the parade kicks off at 11:30 on Saturday, May 2<sup>nd</sup> on a new route along Dearborn Street; and

WHEREAS, as Chicago has the largest Polish population outside of Warsaw, a celebration of Polish culture and traditions is a fitting tribute and opportunity to demonstrate this year's parade motto: I love Poland and you should, too!; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, on behalf of ourselves and staff, do hereby recognize the 124<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of the Polish Constitution Day Parade; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution be spread upon the permanent Record of Proceedings of the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago.

Dated: April 23, 2015

Approved: MARIYANA T. SPYROPOULOS, President; BARBARA J. MCGOWAN, Vice President; FRANK AVILA, Chairman, Committee on Finance; MICHAEL A. ALVAREZ; TIMOTHY BRADFORD; CYNTHIA M. SANTOS; DEBRA SHORE; KARI K. STEELE; PATRICK D. THOMPSON; Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Approved as to Form and Legality: Ronald M. Hill, General Counsel