

Legislation Text

## File #: 16-0180, Version: 1

## **RESOLUTION FOR BOARD MEETING OF MARCH 3, 2016**

RESOLUTION sponsored by the Board of Commissioners recognizing the Rotary Club of Naperville and Bharathi Theertha for conducting a vocational training workshop for sewage and effluent plant operators in the Andhra Pradesh State of India

WHEREAS, the Rotary Club of Naperville and Bharathi Theertha led a vocational training workshop for sewage and effluent plant operators in the Andhra Pradesh State of India from February 25 through February 27, 2016; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Prakasam Tata, President of Bharathi Theertha and Executive Director of the Center for Transformation of Waste Technology in Naperville led a team in conjunction with Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Commissioner Frank Avila; Hitesh Shah, Managing Engineer of the John E. Egan Water Reclamation Plant; Syama Pappu, Electrical Engineer, MWRD; Mohamedusman Baki, retired Plant Manager of the Kirie Water Reclamation Plant; retired BVVS Prakasa Rao (CAO); Andhra Pradesh, Pollution Control Board, Hyderabad, India; Bhaskar Chilukuri, Founder and President of the Green Brigade in Hyderabad; and Rotarians Praveen Gupta, Suren Poruri and Gopinath Reddy Vedire; and

WHEREAS, the Rotary District 3150 and Rotarians G.L.N. Raju and Ramjee of the Rotary Club of Visakhapatnam helped collaborate and facilitate the workshop; and

WHEREAS, the Andhra Pradesh Pollution Control Board encouraged various sewage and effluent treatment plant operators and managers to attend, led by Dr. Phani Kumar, IAS, Chairman; Mr. B.S.S. Prasad, IFS, Member Secretary; Mr. K. Madhusudhana Rao, Joint Chief Environmental Engineer; K. Sriramamurthy, Senior Environmental Engineer; and Mr. Lakshminarayana of the Zonal Office; and

WHEREAS, the student members of Engineers Without Borders- India Chapter, led by President Dr. Shuakat Mirza and Director Dr. Ashok Agarwal and student members of Rotaract Clubs- India Chapter participated in the workshop to help pursue careers in the environmental field; and

WHEREAS, the workshop covered the basics of the unit processes of various treatment processes implemented at the sewage and common effluent treatment plants in Andhra Pradesh, India and focused on troubleshooting problems that occur due to upsets caused by toxic wastewater discharges or due to poor operation and maintenance of the treatment plants; and

WHEREAS, the staff of Andhra University provided support for the workshop, including Professor Ch.V. Ramachandra Murthy, Principal of the College of Engineering; Professor P. S. Avadhani of the Department Of Computer Science and Systems Engineering; Professor K. Raghu Babu of the Department Of Engineering Chemistry; Professor S. Bala Prasad, Professor Sarashi and Professor Satyanarayana of the Department of Civil Engineering; P.V.N. Prasada Rao, K. Kameswara Rao, and V. P. Byragi Reddy of the Department of Environmental Sciences; S. V. Naidu of the Department of Chemical Engineering; K. Ramji of the Department of Mechanical Engineering; and N. B. R. Mohana Rao of the Department of Metallurgy; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water

## File #: 16-0180, Version: 1

Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, on behalf of ourselves and staff, do recognize the Rotary Club of Naperville, Bharathi Theertha, Rotary District 3150, and the Andhra Pradesh Pollution Control Board for promoting best management and operational practices of sewage and effluent treatment plants for a clean water environment in Andhra Pradesh; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution be spread upon the permanent Record of Proceedings of the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, and that a copy of same, suitably engrossed, be presented to the Rotary Club of Naperville, Bharathi Theertha, the Andhra University College of Engineering and the Andhra Pradesh State Pollution Control Board.

Dated: March 3, 2016

Approved: MARIYANA T. SPYROPOULOS, President; BARBARA J. MCGOWAN, Vice President; FRANK AVILA, Chairman, Committee on Finance; MICHAEL A. ALVAREZ; TIMOTHY BRADFORD; CYNTHIA M. SANTOS; DEBRA SHORE; KARI K. STEELE; DAVID J. WALSH; Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Approved as to Form and Legality: Ronald M. Hill, General Counsel RMH:aw