

Legislation Text

File #: 16-0186, Version: 1

TRANSMITTAL LETTER FOR BOARD MEETING OF MARCH 3, 2016

COMMITTEE ON STORMWATER MANAGEMENT

Mr. David St. Pierre, Executive Director

Authority to negotiate intergovernmental agreements for the acquisition of flood prone properties in Des Plaines, Flossmoor, Franklin Park, Northlake, Stone Park, and Wheeling Township

Dear Sir:

Subsequent to adopting a policy on the selection and prioritization of projects for acquiring flood-prone property by the Board of Commissioners on August 7, 2014, the Engineering Department invited each municipality and township within Cook County to submit preliminary applications for potential flood-prone property acquisition projects in April 2015. From this solicitation, six projects were identified that met the requirements of the District's policy. In December 2015 these communities were invited to submit a final application which included a benefit-cost analysis and certification that the community would be willing to fulfill the duties of a local sponsor included in the District's policy.

Projects consisting of 132 flood-prone properties were identified in the City of Des Plaines, Villages of Flossmoor, Franklin Park, Northlake, Stone Park, and Unincorporated Wheeling Township. The Engineering Department assembled the attached exhibit illustrating the locations and listing of projects, and recommends these properties be acquired.

Based on the foregoing, it is requested that the Board of Commissioners grant authority for the District to negotiate Intergovernmental Agreements (IGAs) with the City of Des Plaines, Villages of Flossmoor, Franklin Park, Northlake, Stone Park, and Unincorporated Wheeling Township for the acquisition of flood-prone properties. Once the parties agree in principle, authority to enter into the IGAs will be sought from the District's Board of Commissioners.

Requested, Catherine A. O'Connor, Director of Engineering, WSS:JPM Recommended, David St. Pierre, Executive Director Respectfully Submitted, Michael A. Alvarez, Chairman Committee on Stormwater Management Disposition of this agenda item will be documented in the official Regular Board Meeting Minutes of the Board of Commissioners for March 3, 2016

Attachment