

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

100 East Erie Street Chicago, IL 60611

Legislation Text

File #: 16-0549, Version: 1

RESOLUTION FOR BOARD MEETING OF JUNE 2, 2016

RESOLUTION sponsored by the Board of Commissioners recognizing the Louis Vuitton America's Cup World Series Chicago

WHEREAS, the Louis Vuitton America's Cup World Series Chicago, a qualifying event for the 2017 America's Cup in Bermuda, will be held at Navy Pier from June 10-12, 2016; and

WHEREAS, the America's Cup is the competition for the oldest trophy in international sport which dates back to 1851 and is yachting's biggest prize; and

WHEREAS, Chicago is the first freshwater venue to host America's Cup racing in the event's 165-year history; and

WHEREAS, with viewing stands set up on Navy Pier, some of the best sailors in the world will race foiling, wingsailed catamarans at 40+ mph close to shore; and

WHEREAS, Chicago's selection as a host for the Louis Vuitton America's Cup World Series is due in large part to Don Wilson, a passionate sailor, longtime Chicagoan and event Chair, and to Event Director, Tod Reynolds, the Director of Chicago Match Race Center, who is managing the event; and

WHEREAS, the America's Cup is also bringing its Endeavour program to Chicago, which introduces students to sailing as a way to learn about science, technology, engineering, arts, and math and will provide for some students a first-ever experience with Lake Michigan; and

WHEREAS, the Louis Vuitton America's Cup World Series Chicago will showcase our beautiful lakefront and will allow spectators and visitors the opportunity to experience the precious resource that is Lake Michigan; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, on behalf of ourselves and staff, do hereby recognize the Louis Vuitton America's Cup World Series Chicago; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution be spread upon the permanent Record of Proceedings of the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago.

Dated: June 2, 2016

Approved: MARIYANA T. SPYROPOULOS, President; BARBARA J. MCGOWAN, Vice President; FRANK AVILA, Chairman, Committee on Finance; MICHAEL A. ALVAREZ; TIMOTHY BRADFORD; CYNTHIA M. SANTOS; DEBRA SHORE; KARI K. STEELE; DAVID J. WALSH; Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Approved as to Form and Legality: Ronald M. Hill, General Counsel, RMH:aw