

## Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

100 East Erie Street Chicago, IL 60611

## **Legislation Text**

File #: 16-0832, Version: 1

## **RESOLUTION FOR BOARD MEETING OF AUGUST 4, 2016**

RESOLUTION sponsored by the Board of Commissioners recognizing the Center for Neighborhood Technology

WHEREAS, the Center for Neighborhood Technology was founded in 1978 by Scott Bernstein and Stan Hallett to formulate innovative strategies to revitalize the West Garfield neighborhood; and

WHEREAS, since 1978, the Center for Neighborhood Technology has become a national and international center for creative thinking on an entire range of urban issues, including energy, transportation, community development, and housing; and

WHEREAS, the Center for Neighborhood Technology was recognized in 2009 by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation for its transformative ideas for improving the quality of life in cities; and

WHEREAS, the Center for Neighborhood Technology was an early supporter of the use of green infrastructure as a tool for stormwater management; and

WHEREAS, the Center for Neighborhood Technology created the *RainReady* program in 2014 to develop and implement solutions to the widespread problem of urban flooding and stormwater management; and

WHEREAS, *RainReady* emphasizes multi-tiered solutions, engaging people and institutions at all levels, from the individual homeowner to municipalities and other government agencies; and

WHEREAS, *RainReady* supports residents, community organizations and municipalities by offering a variety of services, including risk assessment, solution mapping, implementation support and ongoing monitoring; and

WHEREAS, the *RainReady* resilience model has already been implemented in seven communities in south suburban Cook County - Blue Island, Calumet City, Calumet Park, Dolton, Midlothian, Riverdale, Robbins and in the City of Chicago; and

WHEREAS, the Center for Neighborhood Technology and *RainReady* were recognized on June 23 by the Association of State Floodplain Managers with the 2016 James Lee Witt Award for Excellence in Floodplain Management; and

WHEREAS, the nominating committee recognized that *RainReady* was a new and unique approach to managing stormwater, and that it would not only safeguard people and property, but would also preserve the natural functions of floodplains; and

WHEREAS, *RainReady* represents an innovative, effective and scalable approach to managing urban stormwater challenges; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, on behalf of ourselves and staff, do hereby congratulate the Center

## File #: 16-0832, Version: 1

for Neighborhood Technology for its achievement; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution be spread upon the permanent Record of Proceedings of the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago.

Dated: August 4, 2016

Approved: MARIYANA T. SPYROPOULOS, President; BARBARA J. MCGOWAN, Vice President; FRANK AVILA, Chairman, Committee on Finance; MICHAEL A. ALVAREZ; TIMOTHY BRADFORD; CYNTHIA M. SANTOS; DEBRA SHORE; KARI K. STEELE; DAVID J. WALSH; Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Approved as to Form and Legality: Ronald M. Hill, General Counsel, RMH