

## Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

100 East Erie Street Chicago, IL 60611

## **Legislation Text**

File #: 16-1283, Version: 1

## **RESOLUTION FOR BOARD MEETING OF DECEMBER 1, 2016**

RESOLUTION sponsored by the Board of Commissioners congratulating Mother McAuley High School for winning the Illinois State Volleyball Championship

WHEREAS, Mother McAuley Liberal Arts High School, located in the Mount Greenwood neighborhood in Chicago, is a Catholic high school for young women; and

WHEREAS, known for the strong, liberal arts foundation it provides to graduates, Mother McAuley is also renowned for its athletic program; and

WHEREAS, on November 12<sup>th</sup>, the Mighty Macs captured their record 15<sup>th</sup> state championship in volleyball, beating Minooka High School at Redbird Stadium at Illinois State University in Normal; and

WHEREAS, led by Coach Jen DeJarld and with a tough schedule playing highly-ranked teams from Illinois and elsewhere, McAuley finished with 32 straight victories; and

WHEREAS, seniors Charley Niego, Katie O'Connell, Abby O'Brien, Emma Reilly and Ashley Maher, along with sophomore setter Nancy Kane gave their all, going to three sets for only the sixth time all season, winning the final set 25 to 19; and

WHEREAS, on November 22<sup>nd</sup>, Mother McAuley received word that the Mighty Macs were ranked #1 in the nation by USA Today Sports, adding another point of pride in the storied history of Mother McAuley volleyball; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that we, the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, on behalf of ourselves and staff, do hereby congratulate Mother McAuley High School for their historic state championship win; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution be spread upon the permanent Record of Proceedings of the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago.

Dated: December 1, 2016

Approved: MARIYANA T. SPYROPOULOS, President; BARBARA J. MCGOWAN, Vice President; FRANK AVILA, Chairman, Committee on Finance; MICHAEL A. ALVAREZ; TIMOTHY BRADFORD; CYNTHIA M. SANTOS; DEBRA SHORE; KARI K. STEELE; DAVID J. WALSH; Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Approved as to Form and Legality: Ronald M. Hill, General Counsel