

100 East Erie Street

Legislation Text

File #: 17-0235, Version: 1

RESOLUTION FOR BOARD MEETING OF MARCH 2, 2017

RESOLUTION sponsored by the Board of Commissioners recognizing Kerry Ryan Lynch for her work on the Choose Kind Chicago Campaign

WHEREAS, Kerry Ryan Lynch's daughter Mary Cate was born with a rare congenital disorder called Apert syndrome; and

WHEREAS, realizing that Mary Cate would face social and emotional challenges due to the physical differences caused by Apert syndrome, Kerry decided to introduce her at a local school and show other children that Mary Cate was not that different from them; and

WHEREAS, the visit went so well that other schools began requesting visits from Kerry and Mary Cate; and

WHEREAS, Kerry and Mary Cate have visited over 100 area schools, helping to teach children to "choose kind" and celebrate their differences; and

WHEREAS, after her own search for information on the disorder, Kerry realized there was a lack of information available online and created a blog and a Facebook page about Apert syndrome, providing valuable resources for parents of newly diagnosed children; and

WHEREAS, as a result of her work with school children, Kerry received the Venerable Mary Potter Humanitarian Award, which honors individuals whose personal and professional accomplishments embody the ideas, vision and mission of Mary Potter, who founded the Little Company of Mary Sisters in 1877; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, on behalf of ourselves and staff, do hereby recognize Kerry Ryan Lynch for her work on the Choose Kind Chicago Campaign; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution be spread upon the permanent Record of Proceedings of the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, and that a copy of same, suitably engrossed, be presented to Kerry Ryan Lynch.

Dated: March 2, 2017

Approved: MARIYANA T. SPYROPOULOS, President; BARBARA J. MCGOWAN, Vice President; FRANK AVILA, Chairman, Committee on Finance; TIMOTHY BRADFORD; MARTIN J. DURKAN; JOSINA MORITA; DEBRA SHORE; KARI K. STEELE; DAVID J. WALSH; Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Approved as to Form and Legality: Ronald M. Hill, General Counsel, RMH:akw