

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

100 East Erie Street Chicago, IL 60611

Legislation Text

File #: 17-0386, Version: 1

RESOLUTION FOR BOARD MEETING OF APRIL 6, 2017

RESOLUTION sponsored by the Board of Commissioners honoring Mohammed Ali Shabbir

WHEREAS, Mohammed Ali Shabbir is currently serving as one of the leaders of the Telangana Legislative council; and

WHEREAS, Shabbir was born in 1957 to an agricultural family in Kamareddy, Nizamabad District in Telangana, India; and

WHEREAS, Shabbir is married with one son and two daughters; and

WHEREAS, Shabbir was active in the Youth Congress movement where he was State General Secretary, Vice -President of AP Youth Congress and a member of the AICC; and

WHEREAS, in 2008 he was appointed as Executive Member of the Andhra Pradesh Congress Committee, member of Pradesh Congress Committee and member of the Pradesh Election Manifesto Committee; and

WHEREAS, Shabbir was elected to be the First Minister for Minority Welfare in 1989 and has served as a representative for his district and in various government positions since; and

WHEREAS, Shabbir served as a Cabinet Minister for Information and Public Relations, Energy & Coal and NRI Affairs under Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy Government; and

WHEREAS, Shabbir was instrumental in providing 4% reservations for minority students as Minister of Minority Welfare, which enabled minority students greater access to education and employment; and

WHEREAS, Shabbir was elected as a member of the Legislative Council for the Government of Andhra Pradesh and also appointed as Vice-President of the A.P. Congress Committee; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, on behalf of ourselves and staff, do hereby recognize Mohammed Ali Shabbir for his many years of public service in Telangana, India; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution be spread upon the permanent Record of Proceedings of the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago.

Dated: April 6, 2017

Approved: MARIYANA T. SPYROPOULOS, President; BARBARA J. MCGOWAN, Vice President; FRANK AVILA, Chairman, Committee on Finance; TIMOTHY BRADFORD; MARTIN J. DURKAN; JOSINA MORITA; DEBRA SHORE; KARI K. STEELE; DAVID J. WALSH; Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Approved as to Form and Legality: Ronald M. Hill, General Counsel, RMH

File #: 17-0386, Version: 1