

## Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

100 East Erie Street Chicago, IL 60611

## **Legislation Text**

File #: 17-0502, Version: 1

## **MEMORIAL RESOLUTION FOR BOARD MEETING OF MAY 18, 2017**

RESOLUTION sponsored by the Board of Commissioners recognizing the 126<sup>th</sup> Chicago Polish Constitution Day Parade

WHEREAS, the Chicago Polish Constitution Day Parade celebrates the anniversary of the ratification of the Polish Constitution on May 3, 1791; and

WHEREAS, the Polish Constitution was the first democratic constitution in Europe and second in the world only to the United States Constitution; and

WHEREAS, for 126 years, the Chicago Polish community's various organizations have come together to organize this traditional salute to pride and tradition; and

WHEREAS, the parade is held each year on the Saturday closest to the third day of May; and

WHEREAS, the very first parade took place in 1892 in Humboldt Park, which at the time was located in the heart of Polish Downtown. After World War II the parade was moved downtown, first to State Street, then to Dearborn Street, and finally, from 2003, to Grant Park; and

WHEREAS, the main organizer of the Parade is the Association of Polish Clubs, under whose leadership the Grand Marshal and Queen of the Parade are elected; and

WHEREAS, this year, the parade will take place on May 6, with the Honorable Diann K. Marsalek serving as Grand Marshal and Julia Szumny as Parade Queen; and

WHEREAS, the Chicago Polish Constitution Day Parade is the biggest Polish parade outside of Poland and serves as a celebration of Chicago's large, proud Polish community; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, on behalf of ourselves and staff, recognize the 126<sup>th</sup> Chicago Polish Constitution Day Parade; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution be spread upon the permanent Record of Proceedings of the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago.

Dated: May 18, 2017

Approved: MARIYANA T. SPYROPOULOS, President; BARBARA J. MCGOWAN, Vice President; FRANK AVILA, Chairman, Committee on Finance; TIMOTHY BRADFORD; MARTIN J. DURKAN; JOSINA MORITA; DEBRA SHORE; KARI K. STEELE; DAVID J. WALSH; Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Approved as to Form and Legality: Susan T. Morakalis, Acting General Counsel, STM:aw