

RESOLUTION FOR BOARD MEETING OF MAY 18, 2017

RESOLUTION sponsored by the Board of Commissioners recognizing the 125th Anniversary of the Sierra Club

WHEREAS, the Sierra Club was founded by conservationist John Muir in 1892 in San Francisco, California. The mission of the Sierra Club was "To explore, enjoy, and render accessible the mountain regions of the Pacific Coast; to publish authentic information concerning them; to enlist the support and cooperation of the people and the government in preserving the forests and other natural features of the Sierra Nevada"; and

WHEREAS, while the Sierra Club did participate in political advocacy, the Club was mostly an outdoor adventure group which organized both recreational and mountaineering activities; and

WHEREAS, until the 1950's, the Sierra Club was largely devoted to preserving, exploring, and defending the granite peaks and lush valleys of California; and

WHEREAS, during the 1950's and 1960's, the Sierra Club underwent many changes. Its membership experienced substantial growth, the Club expanded from being regional to national, and the mission changed from conservationist to environmentalist; and

WHEREAS, by the early 1970's, the changes in the Sierra Club, coupled with its increased involvement in politics and advocacy contributed to the creation of the Environmental Protection Agency, the Clean Air Act, and the Clean Water Act; and

WHEREAS, the Sierra Club currently has over 2.7 million members and supporters; and

WHEREAS, the Sierra Club continues to grow and evolve to meet environmental challenges and preserve our natural resources; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, on behalf of ourselves and staff, hereby officially recognize the 125th Anniversary of the Sierra Club; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution be spread upon the permanent Record of Proceedings of the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago.

Dated: May 18, 2017

Approved: MARIYANA T. SPYROPOULOS, President; BARBARA J. MCGOWAN, Vice President; FRANK AVILA, Chairman, Committee on Finance; TIMOTHY BRADFORD; MARTIN J. DURKAN; JOSINA MORITA; DEBRA SHORE; KARI K. STEELE; DAVID J. WALSH; Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Approved as to Form and Legality: Susan T. Morakalis, Acting General Counsel, STM:yt

100 East Erie Street

Chicago, IL 60611