Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Legislation Text

File #: 17-0809, Version: 1

RESOLUTION FOR THE BOARD MEETING OF AUGUST 3, 2017

RESOLUTION sponsored by the Board of Commissioners recognizing Team MWRD's Outstanding Performance in the Active Transportation Alliance's 2017 Bike Commuter Challenge

WHEREAS, the Active Transportation Alliance sponsored the 26th Annual Bike Commuter Challenge from Friday, June 16, to Friday, June 30, 2017, to encourage new and experienced cyclists to experience and share the benefits of commuting to work via bicycle; and

WHEREAS, the Bike Commuter Challenge was held conjointly with Chicago Bike Week, which offers a variety of cycling-related events and workshops, and encourages residents of the Chicago area to use bicycles for recreation and transportation; and

WHEREAS, 61 employees of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago (MWRD) accepted the Bike Commuter Challenge this year; and

WHEREAS, the following employees participated, either using their bicycles for transportation to or from work, or using their bicycles as a means to access other forms of public transportation, and faithfully recorded their trips and mileage for the purposes of the competition; and

Timothy Baldwin Jeffrey Beyer Robert Biel Michael Burke Jennifer Burns Jay Carlson Eric Carlton Matthew Cianci Cynthia Colvin Joseph Cook Dylan Cooney **Kimberly Davis** Mathew DeGutes Jose Escobedo Alnawaz Eswani **Daniel Feltes Richard Fisher** Kevin Fitzpatrick Allison Fore Stephen Genser Christopher Haite Stephen Haucke Arturo Hernandez Ashley Jesernik Phillip Keeku

Bonnie Kennedy Chester Kos David Kukulka Paula Brinkman Lowe Noel Maldonado John Malinowski John Markovich Meagan Matias Peter Monko Michelle Gillette-Murphy Michael Nearv Alexander O'Connor Timothy O'Hara Jaimin Patel **Brian Perkovich Baldev Rana** Ronald Rogowski Steven Rowe Lauren Salvato Heather Sanchez Eduardo Sandoval Barbara Scapardine Steve Schwartz Renee Scudieri Jay Shetty Paul Sobanski Lou Storino Christopher Thomann Patrick Thomas **Camille Valdes** Cameron Walker John Watson Mary Wilson Nathaniel Wolf Frederick Wu Gregory Yarnik

WHEREAS, Team MWRD ranked highest in team standings for public agencies in 2017; and

WHEREAS, Team MWRD came in fourth in the overall team standings across the Chicago region, placing behind teams from Northwestern University, Lurie Children's Hospital, and the Art Institute of Chicago & School of the Art Institute of Chicago; and

WHEREAS, Frederick Wu and Peter Monko served as captain and co-captain for Team MWRD, following in the footsteps of founding captain Tom Liston, and leading Team MWRD to victory; and

WHEREAS, John Malinowski led Team MWRD with the largest number of trips with 23 commuting trips, Michael Neary led Team MWRD in mileage with 280 miles, and Alexander O'Connor led Team MWRD with the highest number of total points with 508 points; and

WHEREAS, Team MWRD collectively logged a total of 4,209 commuting miles during the two-week challenge, representing over a thirtyfold reduction in energy consumed per mile traveled, and over a tenfold reduction in

File #: 17-0809, Version: 1

greenhouse gas emissions, by comparison to travel in a standard gasoline-powered motor vehicle; and

WHEREAS, Team MWRD's outstanding performance in the Active Transportation Alliance's 2017 Bike Commuter Challenge is a worthy reminder of MWRD's commitment to excellence and to environmental sustainability; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that we, the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, on behalf of ourselves and staff, do hereby congratulate the members of Team MWRD, salute them for their energy and efforts, and encourage more people to join Team MWRD for next year's Bike Commuter Challenge; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution be spread upon the permanent record of proceedings of the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago.

Dated August 3, 2017

Approved: MARIYANA SPYROPOULOS, President; BARBARA J. McGOWAN, Vice-President; FRANK AVILA, Chairman, Committee on Finance; TIMOTHY BRADFORD; MARTIN J. DURKAN; JOSINA MORITA; DEBRA SHORE; KARI K. STEELE; DAVID J. WALSH, Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago.

Approved as to Form and Legality: Susan T. Morakalis, Acting General Counsel, STM:yt