

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

100 East Erie Street Chicago, IL 60611

Legislation Text

File #: 17-0908, Version: 1

RESOLUTION FOR BOARD MEETING OF AUGUST 31, 2017

RESOLUTION sponsored by the Board of Commissioners condemning the hate speech and violence in Charlottesville, Virginia (As Revised)

WHEREAS, the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago mourns the victims of the tragic events earlier this month in Charlottesville, Virginia and stand unified in our condemnation of the hatred and bigotry on display by hate groups in attendance; and

WHEREAS, the District is proud of the diversity of our staff and our constituents, and is resolute in its repudiation and intolerance for hate speech or violence committed by hate groups or anyone seeking to commit acts of domestic terrorism against racial, ethnic, and religious minorities or other classes of protected individuals; and

WHEREAS, the District extends our well-wishes to all those injured during the events in Charlottesville, and grieves the tragic loss of the lives of Heather Heyer, Lt. H. Jay Cullen and Trooper Berke M. M. Bates; and

WHEREAS, in the face of such tragedy, former President Barack Obama reminded us of the words of Nelson Mandela, who said, "No one is born hating another person because of the color of his skin, or his background, or his religion. People must learn to hate, and if they can learn to hate, they can be taught to love, for love comes more naturally to the human heart than its opposite."; and

WHEREAS, while the District stands by all Americans right to free speech, we condemn the hate speech and violence perpetrated by all groups who espouse hatred and discrimination; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that we, the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, on behalf of ourselves and our staff, do hereby condemn the hate speech and violence in Charlottesville, Virginia; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution be spread upon the permanent Record of Proceedings of the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago.

Dated: August 31, 2017

Approved: MARIYANA T. SPYROPOULOS, President; BARBARA J. MCGOWAN, Vice President; FRANK AVILA, Chairman, Committee on Finance; TIMOTHY BRADFORD; MARTIN J. DURKAN; JOSINA MORITA; DEBRA SHORE; KARI K. STEELE; DAVID J. WALSH; Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Approved as to Form and Legality: Susan T. Morakalis, Acting General Counsel, STM:btk