

## Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

100 East Erie Street Chicago, IL 60611

## **Legislation Text**

File #: 18-0400, Version: 1

## **RESOLUTION FOR BOARD MEETING OF APRIL 19, 2018**

RESOLUTION sponsored by the Board of Commissioners recognizing May as Asian American Pacific Islander Heritage Month

WHEREAS, each May we are honored to commemorate the rich and diverse culture of Asian American Pacific Islanders, and take delight in recognizing their immeasurable contributions to the prosperity of the greater Chicago area; and

WHEREAS, the Asian American Pacific Islander community is one of the fastest growing segments of our population with more than 400,000 Asian Pacific Americans making the greater Chicago area their home; and

WHEREAS, the Asian American Pacific Islander community represents many nations and ethnicities with unique languages, cultures and experiences; and

WHEREAS, we acknowledge and celebrate the social, economic, and democratic contributions of Asian American Pacific Islanders; and

WHEREAS, we acknowledge and celebrate the contributions of three Asian Americans who have made great contributions in promoting their community: Neil Knot, President of the Federation of Indian Associations of Chicago; Anil R. Shah, President of World's Money Exchange, Inc.; and Syed Hussaini, Senior Vice President at Wintrust Bank; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, on behalf of ourselves and staff, hereby recognize May as Asian American Pacific Islander Heritage Month; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this Resolution be spread upon the permanent Record of Proceedings of the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, and that copies of the same, suitably engrossed, be presented to Neil Knot, Anil R. Shah and Syed Hussaini.

Dated: April 19, 2018

Approved: MARIYANA T. SPYROPOULOS, President; BARBARA J. MCGOWAN, Vice President; FRANK AVILA, Chairman, Committee on Finance; MARTIN J. DURKAN; JOSINA MORITA; DEBRA SHORE; KARI K. STEELE; DAVID J. WALSH; Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Approved as to Form and Legality: Susan T. Morakalis, General Counsel, STM:BTK:bh