

RESOLUTION FOR BOARD MEETING OF AUGUST 2, 2018

RESOLUTION sponsored by the Board of Commissioners congratulating Celina Villanueva for her appointment as State Representative for the 21st District

WHEREAS, Celina Villanueva was appointed State Representative for the 21st District; and

WHEREAS, Celina worked as the NADP and Youth Engagement Manager at the Illinois Coalition for Immigrant and Refugee Rights (ICIRR); and

WHEREAS, with a focus on building immigrant power, developing leaders and expanding our democracy to be inclusive of new voices, Celina ties in her background in organizing, civic engagement and youth development to engage immigrant communities and allies throughout Illinois into the various campaigns at ICIRR; and

WHEREAS, Celina has helped to expand voting rights through her efforts on online voter registration, election day registration, and most recently automatic voter registration, all of which are now law in Illinois; and

WHEREAS, she led the largest immigrant civic engagement program in Illinois that has registered over 200,000 new voters and mobilized hundreds of thousands more to get out to vote; and

WHEREAS, prior to joining ICIRR, Celina served as the Director of Organizing at Chicago Votes, as well as working on various issue-based campaigns including the fight for marriage equality in Illinois. She also previously served as Outreach Coordinator for Cook County Commissioner Jesus "Chuy" Garcia, a role that superseded her work on various state and local electoral campaigns; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that we, the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, on behalf of ourselves and staff, do hereby congratulate Celina Villanueva for her appointment to State Representative for the 21st District; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution be spread upon the permanent record of proceedings of the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago.

Dated: August 2, 2018

Approved: MARIYANA T. SPYROPOULOS, President; BARBARA J. MCGOWAN, Vice President; FRANK AVILA, Chairman, Committee on Finance; KEN DUNKIN; MARTIN J. DURKAN; JOSINA MORITA; DEBRA SHORE; KARI K. STEELE; DAVID J. WALSH; Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Approved as to Form and Legality: Susan T. Morakalis, General Counsel

100 East Erie Street

Chicago, IL 60611