

## Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

100 East Erie Street Chicago, IL 60611

## Legislation Text

File #: 19-0302, Version: 1

## **RESOLUTION FOR BOARD MEETING OF MARCH 21, 2019**

RESOLUTION sponsored by the Board of Commissioners recognizing Bharathi Theertha for leading and organizing international conferences on water and waste management in the states of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh of India

WHEREAS, Bharathi Theertha led the organization of an international conference at each of the locations of Hyderabad, Telangana at the Novotel - Hightec International Conference Center (HICC), Hyderabad International Conference Center during February 19-20, 2019, Visakhapatnam at the Andhra University, Andhra Pradesh on February 22, 2019, and at the Dr. B. R. Ambedkar University, Srikakulam, Andhra Pradesh on February 23, 2019; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Prakasam Tata, President of Bharathi Theertha and Executive Director of the Center for Transformation of Waste Technology in Naperville, collaborated in the organization of the International Conference on Water and Waste Management as the Co-Chairman of the conference with Commissioner Frank Avila, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago (MWRD) as the Chairman of the Conference, Mr. Syamasunder Pappu, Electrical Engineer, MWRD as the Convener of the conference along with Mr. Hitesh Shah, Managing Engineer, John Egan Water Reclamation Plant, MWRD, Dr. Roger Iliff, Chairman of the Incubation Committee, Rotary Club of Naperville, and Mr. Bhaskar Chilukuri, Local Organizer, as the members of the conference organizing committee; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Ajay Mishra, IAS, Special Chief Secretary of Environment, Forests, and Science and Technology and Ms. D. Hari Chandana, Zonal Commissioner, GHMC were invited as the Chief Guest and Guest of Honor at the pre-inaugural event and reception held on February 18, 2019 at the Novotel-HICC; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Rajat Kumar, Chief Electoral Officer and former Principal Secretary of Ministry of Environment and Forestry was invited to be the Chief Guest and Mr. B. Kalyan Chakravarty, Director General of the Environmental Protection, Training, and Research Institute (EPTRI), Hyderabad as the Distinguished Guest of Honor to inaugurate the international conference in Hyderabad, Telangana on February 19, 2019; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Roger Iliff, Rotary Club of Naperville, IL, Mr. David Mullan and Dr. Prakasam, Center for the Transformation of Waste Technology, Naperville, IL, Mr. Chetan Kale, Kale Tech LLC, Naperville, IL, Mr. Stephen McCracken, Conservation Foundation, Naperville, IL, Mr. Subijoy Dutta, Rivers of the World Foundation, Crofton, MD, Dr. Ajit Pant, US India Chamber of Commerce, Midwest, Chicago, IL, Dr. Ravi Durvasula, Loyola School of Medicine, Chicago, IL, Messrs. Len Bland and Jack Gardiner, Nano Gas Technologies, Deerfield, IL, Mr. Uma Vempati, ISG, Minneapolis, MN, Mr. Robert Binder, Binder Group, Germany, Mr. Jan Veentjer, OTT Group, Langenhagen, Germany, Mr. Richard Anthony, Zero Waste International Alliance, USA, Ms. Ruth Abbey, Zero Waste, CA, Dr. Amit Pramanik, Water Environment Research Foundation, Alexandria, VA, Mr. Tom Bruursema, Water Quality Association, Lisle, IL, Vijai Gupta, KhaJa Moinuddin, Frank Avila, Syamsunder Pappu, Hitesh Shah of MWRD, Chicago, IL participated in the technical sessions of the conferences; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, on behalf of ourselves and staff, recognizing Bharathi Theertha for leading and organizing international conferences on water and waste management in the states of Telangana

## File #: 19-0302, Version: 1

and Andhra Pradesh of India; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution be spread upon the permanent Record of Proceedings of the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago and that a copy of same, suitably engrossed, be presented to President Dr. Prakasam Tata of Bharathi Theertha.

Dated: March 21, 2019

Approved as to Form and Legality: Susan T. Morakalis, General Counsel