100 East Erie Street

File #: 18-0635, Version: 1

RESOLUTION FOR BOARD MEETING OF JUNE 21, 2018

RESOLUTION sponsored by the Board of Commissioners honoring Be the Miracle for their work in the community

WHEREAS, Be the Miracle was founded in 2015 by two college friends, Kristen Perteet and Hassahn Liggins; and

WHEREAS, their mission is to take back and rebuild communities and end the cycle of violence in Chicago; and

WHEREAS, Be The Miracle focuses on developing young leaders by promoting education, career exploration, financial literacy, and community involvement; and

WHEREAS, Be The Miracle has awarded two scholarships toward college tuition to Jhaianne Cooper who is attending Alabama State University, and Leslie Garcia, who is attending Kalamazoo College; and

WHEREAS, on June 16, the organization hosted a successful fundraiser with proceeds benefiting program expansion and future scholarship winners; and

WHEREAS, Be The Miracle continues to expand by building partnerships with local businesses and professionals to provide job training, education, exposure, and opportunities to students; and

WHEREAS, the organization has established a mentor program, as well as "Be The Leaders," a program designed to develop today's youth into leaders who will carry on the organization's mission to end violence in the community by working with elected officials and law enforcement; and

WHEREAS, to complete their mission, Kristen and Hassahn rely on the support of family, friends, their Board of Directors, Ambassadors, and many corporate and small business sponsors, building a "Super Team" to make an impact on this City; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, on behalf of ourselves and staff, hereby honor Be The Miracle for their work in the community; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution be spread upon the permanent Record of Proceedings of the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago and that a copy of same, suitably engrossed, be presented to Kristen Perteet and Hassahn Liggins.

Dated: June 21, 2018

Approved: MARIYANA T. SPYROPOULOS, President; BARBARA J. MCGOWAN, Vice President; FRANK AVILA, Chairman, Committee on Finance; KEN DUNKIN; MARTIN J. DURKAN; JOSINA MORITA; DEBRA SHORE; KARI K. STEELE; DAVID J. WALSH; Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District

File #: 18-0635, Version: 1

of Greater Chicago

Approved as to Form and Legality: Susan T. Morakalis, General Counsel